22nd Annual Freedom Fund Awards Banquet October 14 2018

The Newark Branch NAACP’s 22nd Annual Freedom Fund Awards Banquet is scheduled for Sunday, October 14 from 2-6 pm at the Belvedere Volunteer Fire Hall. We hope you can join us this year as we recognize our youth and community leaders.

Tickets are available from Eventbrite.

Tickets: $50.00 person

Keynote: Ms Shyanne Miller

Shyanne Miller is Black American woman. Shyanne earned her bachelor’s degree in Wildlife Conservation from the University of Delaware, and her Masters in Sustainable Development from SIT Graduate Institute. She specializes in policy advocacy and awareness. Currently she is working with the Rodel Foundation of Delaware, a non-profit focused on education reform through policy change. She also serves a board member with The Coalition to Dismantle the New Jim Crow, a Delaware-based, grassroots organization fighting institutionalized and systemic racism by transforming the criminal justice system and promoting fair economic change. Shyanne’s passions are to support anti-racist efforts by building the ability of all community members to participate in the political process in order to promote social justice.

Shyanne works to ensure that Black, Brown, and impoverished communities create their own avenues to have their voices heard in political processes and decisions about resource distribution– which are key pieces in sustaining the fight against systemic and institutionalized racism.

Theme:  Celebrating the Power of Sankofa; Go Back and Get It

Sankofa is an African word from the Akan tribe in Ghana.  The literal translation of the word “It is not taboo to fetch what is at risk of being left behind.” The Sankofa Bird is a mythical bird with its feet firmly planted forward with its head turned backwards urging us all to stop, look, listen and reclaim our past so that we may move forward into our future with wisdom and confidence.

Exemplary Student Awards

Students who serving as a desirable model; representing the best of its kind. Well Rounded Students

Exemplary Elementary Male Student ~ Aiden Martin

Exemplary Elementary Female Student ~ Jocelyn Brown

Exemplary Middle School Male Student ~ Keshan Patrick

Exemplary Middle School Female Student ~ Deja Matthews

Exemplary High School Male Student ~ Justin Sharpe

Exemplary High School Female Student ~ Dounya Ramaden

Superlative Graduate Student ~ Camille Henderson

Extraordinary Leadership/Public Service

Robert Anderson Jr.

Colonel Vaughn Bond

Extraordinary Citizenship ~ special needs category

Nicole “Colee” Jones

Lifetime Achievement ~ Elders in our Community

Ms. Alberta Wilson

Larry Tucker

Sankofa Award

organization or person who exemplifies the spirit of Sankofa in our community

Patti Wilson Aden

Sylvester Woolford

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *